[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Call for Nominations




The 2002-2003 Nominations Committee is now
soliciting nominations for the open
slots on the IESG and IAB.

Please take the time, even if it is
only a few moments, to send us your
thoughts.

Members of the community are encouraged to
nominate candidates for any of the positions
which are up for re-filling:

IESG Terms ending in March, 2003:
Harald Alvestrand     IETF Chair
Scott Bradner         Transport
Randy Bush            Operations & Management
Patrik Faltstrom      Applications
Thomas Narten         Internet
Bill Fenner           Routing
Jeff Schiller         Security

IAB Terms ending in March, 2003:
Ran Atkinson
Rob Austein
Fred Baker
*Steve Deering
Sally Floyd
Geoff Huston

*Please note that Steve Deering is on sabbatical and will not be a candidate
to return to the IAB.

Members of the community are encouraged to contact the nomcom confidentially 
1) to nominate someone for any of these positions (please provide the email
address of any nominee), 
2) to provide input relating to potential candidates, or 
3) to provide comments regarding the past performance of incumbents.
All of this information will be considered during the deliberations of
the nominating committee and will be held in confidence by the nominating
committee.

We emphasize that comments sent to the nominations committee will be kept
in confidence. As noted in RFC 2727 "all deliberations and supporting 
information that relates to specific nominees, candidates, and confirmed
candidates are confidential."

Self-nominations are accepted. The deadline for nominations is midnight
Friday, November 22, 2002.  Early input is desirable so that candidates
may be interviewed during the Atlanta IETF meeting.

The members of the NomCom can be contacted individually at the addresses
below or collectively at nomcom@ietf.org.  Additionally, the members of
the NomCom will be identified at the IETF by a small orange dot
on their name tags.  People are encouraged to take advantage of the
opportunity to talk to the members of the NomCom about nominations
and other issues related to the IAB and IESG membership.

The 2002-2003 Nominations Committee
Edward Lewis <edlewis@arin.net> 
Alec Brusilovsky <abrusilovsky@lucent.com> 
Michael Richardson <mcr@sandelman.ca> 
Eva Jonsson <eva.jonsson@utfors.se> 
Stephen Trowbridge <sjtrowbridge@lucent.com> 
Frank Alfano <falfano@lucent.com> 
Thomas Kurien <kurien@lucent.com> 
Dennis Beard <beardd@nortelnetworks.com> 
Richard Draves <richdr@microsoft.com> 
Eva Gustafsson <eva.gustafsson@ericsson.com>

Non-voting members:
Phil Roberts <proberts@megito.com> (chair)
Allison Mankin <mankin@psg.com> (IESG liaison)
Eric Rescorla <ekr@rtfm.com> (IAB liaison) 
Theodore Ts'o <tytso@mit.edu> (previous nomcom chair)

The role of non-voting members (from RFC 2727):

"The nominations committee comprises at least a non-voting Chair,
10 voting volunteers, and 3 non-voting liaisons.  The sitting IAB
and IESG members each appoint a non-voting liaison to the nominating
committee from their current membership who are not sitting in an 
open position.  The Chair of the prior year's nominating committee 
also serves as a non-voting liaison.